Sealed with a Kiss, Lipstick Fixative review

13879276_943890595721052_240661953312173835_n
Awhile back I was at Sally Beauty Supply, and I bought this on an impulse.  I asked the woman working if it really worked, kind of with a skeptic tone.  She said she didn’t know first hand but a woman comes in all the time to buy 5 in one visit.  Well, with that I spent about $5 on this product and took it home.

13912532_943890592387719_5208205921627087479_n

I really hadn’t thought about it since my normal lipstick stays so well.  But, (and if you’re a lipstick wearer you know what I’m talking about here) sometimes it’s not always easy thinking into the future about where and what you might eat if you’re going to a restaurant.
The other day I decided to try this out on a random trip shopping and errands… and we just so happened to end up at a burger place.. which was a great test to this product.
And I’m sad to say… it was a flop.  But you know I’m always willing to give something a second shot, and if it works next time… I’ll be sure to update you.
But here’s my experience:
The product claims to seal and fix your lipstick, and can prevent feathering if applied under the lipcolor.  I usually hate this because I feel like it’s going to transfer to the lipstick itself.
So I decided to try it by sealing it over top my lip color.
Problem number one:  I couldn’t actually get the roller ball to start rolling.  So to get the product out, I had to squeeze it onto my finger.

13879413_943890589054386_6118943655791075106_n

I did try to roll it onto my lips, and I saw a flaw right off the bat.
Problem number 2:  The color from my lipstick would have rolled into the fixative if the ball was actually rolling.  But the product is very liquid so I just squeezed some out and wiped and dabbed it gently onto the entire lip and lip line.
It started to get tacky and dry quickly, but it never really dried fully… so that sticky tacky feeling stayed with me the entire day.
Problem number 3:  Which meant my hair kept sticking to it…. and who knows what else.
I didn’t check myself in the mirror before our impromptu trip to grab lunch at the burger place.  Before I dug in, I blotted my lips onto the napkin and, problem number 4; all of the lip color just came right off as if there was no fixative on at all.  I ended up wiping all of it off very easily, with no rubbing or excessive wiping.
Overall it’s a flop… and there was no point in taking photos.  I’m really sad because it would have been awesome if this worked.
And on that note, if anyone DOES have a rave review on a lipstick fixative, I’d love to know so I can give that one a shot!

 

 

Leave a Reply

