Michael Todd Soniclear Review Follow Up

Unknown
A long while back on my youtube channel I filmed a Michael Todd Soniclear Elite Facial Cleansing Brush Unboxing.  You can find it here.  I have since been able to use the brush consistently for several months and can give you my honest review.  Once again, this is a review on my own accord, and is unsolicited.  I have not been paid for this review.
Pros
  1.  I can 100% say that the Michael Todd is equal to the effectiveness of the Clarisonic.  The bristles in the brush may be a bit more sturdy, and less soft.  But this can easily be adjusted with the high or low level of the sonic vibration.  I love that I have used the brush for several months, and there is no staining on the brush head, and seems to stay cleaner for longer.
  2. It has the c boost:  Which if I’m honest, I’ve not been using regularly.  When I do use it though, it’s a nice gentle massage for my face, and sort of feels like it could be increasing circulation.  Blood flow does equal better skin quality, so maybe… just maybe, there might be something to that c boost feature.
  3. No breakouts when used regularly, just like the Clarisonic.
  4. So much more affordable for the actual cleansing brush, AND the brush heads.  They recommend changing them every 6 months, and the brush heads are a tad less expensive overall.  Up to $108 per year for Clarisonic brush head vs up to $50 for Soniclear.
Cons
  1.  No protective outer immobile bristles.  Clarisonic has a smaller movable area for the brush head because there is a circle of outer layer bristles that protects from splashing.  Because the Soniclear doesn’t have this feature, there is a certain degree of splashing and spray onto the bathroom mirror.. or my husband that might be brushing his teeth standing right next to me.  It’s a small price to pay for not paying a large price…. see what I did there?
  2. Another small silly con.  If you just so happen to power off the unit when it’s ready to beep to signal you to move to another facial area… you might have the machine screaming at you.  It could just be mine, but this has happened more than a few times to me.  I guess my timing is impeccable.  The first time it happened I panicked because, well it’s not like I can take out the battery to get it to stop making that horrible high pitched screaming noise!  But I resolved it quickly by turning it back on and off again.
And that’s about it!  Overall, I love the Michael Todd Soniclear Elite Facial Cleansing Brush!  I hope in the future that the company will create some other brush heads.  My favorite was the deep pore cleansing brush head from Clarisonic, and I’d love that feature for my Soniclear.    The cons aren’t really that earth shattering to keep me from purchasing this over the Clarisonic, and overall I’m glad I took the chance on this more affordable option.
By the way… if you like these honest beauty reviews, sign up for the Nicolyndime club here.  You’ll get a free drugstore skincare guide for all skin types, and an exclusive invitation to my facebook group too.
Leave a Reply

