Super Simple Frugal: Make your own Dry Shampoo

12718258_853674818075964_6716212924692653734_n

I love my Dove dry shampoo.  It’s one of the best drugstore buys I can find.  It creates some fullness in my hair, and because I only wash my hair once a week, I use it on days when I need a little refresh.
But I had found this article pinned on Pinterest from All You Magazine, and was curious.  My Dove dry shampoo does leave my hair looking a little dusted sometimes because I have brown hair.  The recipe evidently comes from the Free People Blog, and is oh so simple.  In fact people have been using cornstarch for many things for many years, from face powder, to diapers.  Why not try it in your hair?
For darker hair use 1/2 cup cocoa powder to 2 Tablespoons cornstarch.  For lighter hair, it tells you to try baking soda, but I might try a baking powder instead.
12806013_853674821409297_7557614906062678532_n
I can only speak for the cocoa dry shampoo which works great.  Simple combine, and add to a shaker.  I put mine in a garlic salt container, and as you can see, didn’t bother to take off the label!  (Use baking soda to remove any odors from containers.  Mix with a little water and shake shake shake.  You can repeat if needed.)
This cocoa dry shampoo not only smells great, but when I missed my hair washing day when that dreaded sick bug hit, this was a lifesaver.  Hubby wanted to go out for Valentine’s Day, and I thought I could muster it.  I didn’t have time to dry my hair (or the desire) and didn’t to go out with a wet head.  This stuff worked BETTER than the Dove dry shampoo, when the Dove wasn’t cutting it!
It’s way more affordable too, and you know what’s in it.  That being said… disclaimer alert!  If you are allergic to cocoa, chocolate, or cornstarch for that matter… do NOT use!  Anything put onto the skin is also absorbed by it.

 

Leave a Reply

