National Chocolate Cake Day!

Did you know that today is National Chocolate Cake day?  Whaaat?  I must have some chocolate cake in order to honor such an esteemed and special day!  One of the best chocolate cakes that I remember having was at Max & Erma’s.  It was their Triple Chocolate Cake which I shared a piece with 2 other people and we all had our fill.  It was decadent, delicious, and of course super chocolatey and I have been searching for that recipe ever since.  Why does no one seem to have a copycat for it…. WHYYYYY?!
I could go for that cake right now.
But since the recipe is eluding me I think I’ve found a close replica.  I fell upon these chocolate layer cake recipes while searching the web.  By the way, have I mentioned I’m moving (only a few thousand times)?  So I haven’t actually tried these recipes out myself.  Let me know if these work out and which one you liked the best if you all decide to try it!
1130307
First a submission to allrecipes.com.  I often find myself on this site, and have just finished up the year’s subscription to the magazine.  I love both.  This recipe was submitted by Denise on Allrecipes and has 4673 reviews with an overall 5 star rating.  This “Too Much Chocolate Cake” I think has met its match.  There’s never too much chocolate for me!!!
Triple-Chocolate-Cake-4
The next recipe is from Sally’s Baking Addiction, in her own words “a self-taught, mom-taught, grandma-taught baker.”  I absolutely love that description, and those are always the best teachers.  Her cake makes me want to drop everything and make it right now…. but this place is a disaster area, and I packed my measuring cups.  Here’s her Triple Chocolate Layer Cake
Microwave Crazy Wacky Cake in  Mug recipe 2
Last, if you’re like me and you have an itch to scratch for chocolate cake… you can resort to this easy one serving option.  A recipe from Sweet Little Bluebird that has no eggs, milk, or butter.  I’m going to run to make this right now…. Crazy Cake in a Mug.
Have your chocolate cake and eat it too!  Happy National Chocolate Cake Day to all!!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

