Monthly Thrift Look

Each month I’m going to try (hopefully) to prove that you can be fashionable and live a thrift store life!  You don’t need buckets of cash lying around (yeah right) to look nice, and follow “trends.”
One thing I always hate about magazines is their usual “Lust and Must” section.
I’m definitely on the same page with them about lusting over an item that’s $1,000.  But they lose me when the must item is over or close to $100.  Maybe even if it’s $50, cause you know, I’m cheap when it comes to buying things for myself.
So I’m going to turn that frustration into a positive, and a challenge, and start this monthly blog feature!
Each month I will use the Allure Magazine as an inspiration to find a thrifted look that is inspired by, or resembles their fashion of the month, proving that if you have a little creativity to think outside the box, and the desire to thrift it up, you can accomplish the look too.
This month’s look was all about the polka dots.
20150908_195306-1_resized_1
So off I went, before my weekly Aldi trip, to a thrift store a few blocks from there.  At first, I was a bit discouraged.  I found this top:
20150908_160303-1
So at least I had SOMETHING…. but then I spotted it…
20150908_154143-1
Polka dotted, long sleeve, wrap style dress!
This is a perfect Fall look.  Here I paired it with a vintage Trifari butterfly brooch from an estate sale a looong time ago.
20150908_153716-1_resized
This look took me less than an hour to find, and I also found the rest of the thrift haul that I talked about last Wednesday!
20150908_154232-1_resized
The sleeve has a large cuff and a detail with a button.
20150908_154318-1_resized
That’s our nearly new dead TV in the background.   A lightening strike apparently came through the cable box and fried it  😦
We are using our backup TV til Cyber Monday deals!  Here’s me pondering if TV repairmen still exist.
20150908_154156-1
A perfect vintage fall look for me!  And the final kicker… this dress was $2.
20150908_195255_resized_1
This skirt is $39, and that Michael Kors “Must” dress in blue above is $175!
Let’s see if I can replicate another look or trend next month!
Leave a Reply

